Discover: Tori Kelly

Standard

This is my second edition of Discovery Saturday in which I tell you of an artist that I haven’t been able to ignore and have been listening to rather constantly…

This week I want to feature the artist Tori Kelly

Tori-Kelly-CuteShe has a smile that lights up the room 😀 She’s so endearing!

Tori has a very interesting history in the music industry and I’m here to tell you all about it!

She began singing at just 3 years old and learned to play both the drums and the guitar by the time she was 16! Now that’s impressive!!!

By popular demand from a Tori Kelly superfan named Max 🙂 I have to make this blog a little bit longer to add the fact that Tori was also on Star Search when she was 10…

She didn’t win, but she got seen by a large audience!

And Miss Kelly was on America’s Most Talented Kids when she was 11! Check it out:

She won the competition and beat out Hunter Hayes!!!

blog-hank-williamsAin’t he just adorable?!

This amazing young songstress was even signed to Geffen Records at the age of 12, but because of conflicting ideas, there was a mutual agreement for Tori to be released from the contract.

I can’t believe I glazed over this! HAHA  Thank you Max!!! 😀

Miss Kelly began writing songs at the tender age of 14! I don’t even recall if I did anything that cool at 14 years old! I was boring back then and I’m never going back! HAHA

She hails from Wildomar, California which is located in the southern part of the state.

CA_11079She began sharing the songs she had written on YouTube a few years later and she had no trouble winning over an online audience!

Her guitar-playing is wonderful and I think that her voice is so intricately beautiful as well.

Her YouTube channel grew to have more than 55 million views and almost 700,000 subscribers which is pretty insane if you think about it!

I just subscribed to her YouTube channel and I was number 840,778! 😀

At 21 years old, Tori made her first major label debut on Capitol Records with her 5 song EP called Foreword released on October 22, 2013. She fuses pop and soul in a way that I really have never heard before and she also has an incredible collection of songs on a 6 song EP called Handmade Songs By Tori Kelly that was released on May 1, 2012.

Screen Shot 2014-03-22 at 11.14.25 AM

Handmade Songs were produced and mixed by Tori herself!

Tori expresses this about her music: “One of the most important things to me as a songwriter is to make music that’s young and fresh, but also soulful and real. I want people to feel like they know me once they listen to my songs.”

That’s a wonderful premise for your music and I feel like knowing an artist is the most exciting part of the artist/fan relationship!

Tori is the daughter of two musicians so we automatically know that talent for music was in her genes! 🙂 Her father is a singer and a bassist, and her mother plays the piano and the saxophone! What a talented family!!!

Here is my favorite song from Tori, All In My Head (Live Acoustic):

See what I mean about the intricacy of her voice?! It’s so unreal! 😀

And she’s quite the talented guitar player if I do say so myself!

I just found out a few days ago that Tori auditioned for American Idol back in 2009!

She was great as always and I have no clue why Simon Cowell said “No” to her and told her that her voice was annoying! Really?! Maybe he didn’t have his coffee that morning.

alg-cowell-jpg

Well Tori made it through to Hollywood, yet she didn’t make the Top 24. Lee DeWyze won that year and Crystal Bowersox was the runner-up.

Cyrstal-Bowersox-Lee-Dewyze-Falling-Slowly-01-2010-05-11Although Tori got a picture with David Archuleta so she still won something:

david-tori-500x666Kelly started playing shows at local coffeehouses after Handmade Songs (released on May 1, 2012) climbed into the Top 10 on the iTunes Pop chart!

Well guess who showed up at her very first coffeehouse show in California?

Justin-Biebers-Manager-Scooter-Braun-Tweets-Support-To-Him-After-The-DUI-Arrest

SCOOTER BRAUN AKA JUSTIN BIEBER’S MANAGER!!!

Okay so Justin was not in attendance as well to clear up my usage of that picture 😀 Although, Mr. Braun was in attendance!

Scooter is a bonafide manager turned mogul and is responsible for flying a kid from Toronto to Atlanta, having a bidding war between Justin Timberlake & Usher over who would mentor him, playing small shows in malls and concert venues, and then for his last WORLDWIDE ARENA TOUR…Scooter secured a reported $80 million from Live Nation in order for Justin to even go onstage at these shows around the world!

Justin_Bieber_Usher_Scooter_BraunScooter has done an incredible job with Justin Bieber’s career as clearly stated above and he is also responsible for managing Ariana Grande, Cody Simpson, Asher Roth, Carly Rae Jepsen, Psy (Mr. Gangnam Style himself!), Martin Garrix, boy-band The Wanted and he is managing up-and-coming artists: Amber Riley from Glee, Madison Beer, Todrick Hall, boy-band Rixton, AND Tori Kelly!!!

Screen Shot 2014-03-22 at 12.40.23 PMCarly Rae Jepsen, Ariana Grande, Psy, Cody Simpson, and Martin Garrix

That’s right! Tori’s manager is the superstar that is Scooter Braun!

Scooter+Braun+Tori+Kelly+Celebrity+social+LMuV9mhO0vvlBeing an SB artist must be a blast! 😀

As everyone probably knows by now…I am a huge fan of Justin Bieber and now Tori is in his family tree…technically! HAHA I’m so jealous!!!

justin

The only picture I can find of them in Kohl’s! LOL 😀

Tori is already widely successful in the music business for 21 years old, but no one else tells me about her so I’m just making sure everybody knows who she is, that her music is amazing, and that we should all listen to her more!

Miss Kelly got to grace the stage at the famous South by Southwest or as we all know it: SXSW in Austin, Texas as part of the Scooter Braun “Sunday Funday” as well as 3 other performances in Austin! Congratulations girl!

Here is a clip of her at SXSW:

Everybody loves No Diggity ever since Pitch Perfect HAHAHA 😀

pitchperf

Tori also has this amazing love song written to her future lover:

Tori is a wonderful artist and I can’t wait to see her play in Nashville one day soon!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

