Discover: Sam Smith

Standard

There’s a new artist that’s on my radar and I have to tell you all about him on this special Sunday version of Discover!

His name is Sam Smith and his voice is spectacular!

Sam Smith

I’m actually older than him at almost 24 which is bizarre to me because he looks so mature! HAHA Sam was born on May 19, 1992 and is only 21 (almost 22) years old!

Sam grew up in Great Chishill, Cambridgeshire and worked at his local shop in Barley, Hertfordshire. He’s a native of England and had his first music lessons at St. Thomas More Primary School and studied at St Mary’s Catholic School.

england

Sam is an alumnus of Youth Music Theatre UK and starred in their 2007 production of “Oh! Carol”. He also studied singing and songwriting with jazz vocalist/pianist Joanna Eden.

Joanna

In 2009, Sam’s mom, a former City banker who earned more than £500,000 a year, launched a £1.5m High Court battle against her former employers Tullett Prebon.

The company dismissed AKA fired her amid accusations that she was spending too much time managing her son’s music career, and since then she has sued for damages!

That’s pretty crazy if you ask me, but I’m sure that Sam’s mom is resting easily right about now from all of her son’s success! 😀

And let it be known that Sam is the cousin of Lily Allen and actor Alfie Allen!!! I love Lily Allen as you may or may not know so this news comes as a pleasant surprise 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 12.07.11 PMCheck out my blog about his famous cousin Lily here: http://wp.me/p4hDFH-5A

And here’s a picture of Sam & Lily 😀

sam&lil

So besides his famous cousins, Sam is making a name for himself too!

Sam Smith was featured on England’s electronic music duo Disclosure’s  single “Latch”

Listen to that sonic gem here:

Honestly, I hadn’t heard that song til about a month ago which is crazy considering it came out a year and a half ago! My best friend Sarah told me to listen to it so I have her to thank!

To be fair, I think that some songs take a long time to travel across the pond to the US!

We are so stuck to our Top 40 that finding “Latch” would be like finding a $20 bill on the ground. It’s rare and even to people like me ready and willing to discover new songs!

The song is sung so well by Sam! I just can’t believe how dynamic his voice is! It’s so neat and different…which is always what the music industry is searching for!

“Latch” was released on October 8, 2012 and peaked at #11 on the UK Singles Chart.

In February 2013, Sam Smith released his debut single “Lay Me Down” which was in support of his debut album!

Here’s his performance of that song on Saturday Night Live on March 29th:

In May 2013 he was featured on “La La La” by Naughty Boy:

I think that song is incredible! His voice is so gorgeous in the song as usual!

“La La La” was released on May 19, 2013 and went all the way to #1 on the UK Singles Chart!

Sam released a 7 song EP on January 28, 2014 with Capitol Records called “Nirvana”

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 12.27.59 PMI just listened to his acoustic version of “Latch” and I’m pretty sure I heard an angel! 😀

Sam Smith has been greatly recognized in England as he took home the BRIT Critics’ Choice Award in 2014!

sam

Sam is following in the footsteps of past winners: Adele, Florence + the Machine, Jessie J, Emeli Sandé and last year’s winner Tom Odell.

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 12.45.54 PMAdele, Florence (dressed as the award), Jessie J, Emeli Sandé, and Tom Odell

Sam had this to say about his big win: “It means the world to me, it’s the only award I really care about. I’ve watched the BRITs religiously every single year.”

The BRITs are the American equivalent of The Grammys and the Critics’ Choice award is equivalent to Best New Artist!

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 12.48.54 PMA Grammy Award & the newest polkadot version of a BRIT award

 Lily tweeted out a day early that Sam won, but I guess she was just too excited! 😀

As for now, I can tell you that all I have heard from his SNL appearance on March 29th is that he WOW’ed the audience. I could even tell that the audience was moved by the elevated amount of applause after he sang! 🙂

Speaking of Sam performing Live, don’t miss him on tour from April 15th – September 4th!

Check out his tour dates on Bandsintown: http://www.bandsintown.com/SamSmith?came_from=198

He will actually be playing at the famous Bonnaroo festival in Manchester, TN if I can make it out there to see him on June 12th 😀

130616-bonnaroo-9That an intense crowd! WOW!

Right now we are all listening to “Latch” and  “La La La” on repeat while we wait on his full album to appear on June 17th! I think I really need to pick up a copy of his “Nirvana” EP too because I’m not so sure I can wait until summer to hear Sam all the time! 😀

He’s just THAT good!

Sam’s debut album is called “In The Lonely Hour” and can be preordered on iTunes now!

Sam-Smith-In-the-Lonely-Hour-2014-1500x1500

Here’s the tracklist for the Deluxe Album on iTunes:

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 1.04.27 PM

I’m sooooooo excited to hear more and more from Sam Smith because every single song that I hear…I love! His voice is something I’ve never heard before, is so unique, and is going to be around for a long, long time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

