Rob Thomas shares 2 hours in Nashville

Standard

Rob Thomas is a character and I never knew that until I saw him at The Ryman last night!

Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 5.57.51 PMR&R: Rob & The Ryman

It was such a treat because I got a ticket yesterday…the day of show…for a mere 40 bucks! How could I say no?! πŸ˜€

I was so surprised by how charming Rob was!! He told us from the very beginning of the show: “You guys are here with me for the next 2 hours and we’re going to share a moment together!”

My heart melted right then and there! What a sweet thing to hear from the artist you came to see! πŸ™‚

Rob had quite the lengthly setlist as you can see here fromΒ http://www.setlist.fm/:

Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 6.01.41 PM

For those of you who are out of the loop: Rob Thomas is the lead singer of a band called Matchbox Twenty and is a well known songwriter on his own!

matchbox-twentyMatchbox Twenty (From left: Paul Doucette, Kyle Cook, Rob Thomas, & Brian Yale)

Matchbox formed in 1995 and it wasn’t until 10 years later that Rob decided to try his hand at solo work! Rob has released 2 solo albums and an EP:

Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 6.17.13 PMSomething to Be (April 2005), Cradlesong (June 2009), and Someday EP (June 2009)

Last night was really special and I’m so glad that I got to go!!! I had never seen Rob Thomas in concert before and I was really excited to hear that amazing voice of his!

He never hit one bad note! Seriously!! The man was flawless, and his voice was brilliant! πŸ˜€

I had to tweet a few Rob Thomas quotes during the show:

I love how he talked about turning a record into the label and having anxiety! I’ve never heard anyone else talk about that and it was such a neat conversation! πŸ™‚

Rob was hilarious and told funny stories to the audience as well!!

One of my favorite parts was when he said, “This is the part when that last song was the beginning of the encore and you guys act like we just went offstage and you’re here like ‘I wonder where they went’ (the band & Rob)…and then you clap and then we come back on stage and you’re all shocked. And then we play more songs!” LOL πŸ˜€

DSC09594A picture I got of Rob faking a shocked reaction…just like we did back to him! HAHAHA

His second to last song was “Smooth” that he wrote and recorded with famous guitarist, Carlos Santana, who is taking the stage at The Ryman tonight! Rob told us the bad news that Santana would not be playing or coming or to play. I kind of just waited for a minute like yeah right! He’s in town! HAHA But to my surprise…there was no Santana last night! :/

Kevin Mazur^^^ There’s what should have happened last night ^^^

I loved Rob’s amazing songs and his funny stories πŸ™‚ I just wish he would’ve sang this…

 

That’s one of my favorite Rob Thomas songs for sure! πŸ˜€

However,Β the lead guitarist of Matchbox came out & played so that’s epic enough for me!

Here are some pictures I got from last night!!! Enjoy!

DSC09542

Rob Thomas & Kyle Cook from Matchbox Twenty! πŸ™‚

DSC09582

DSC09608

DSC09625

Leave a Reply

