Nicki Minaj throws shade at Iggy Azalea!

Standard

I’ve always known the day would come…when Nicki Minaj would diss Iggy Azalea!

Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 9.13.42 PM

Nicki is not too happy with Iggy’s attempt to steal her spot!

First I must define for you what it means to “throw shade”…

Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 9.15.58 PM

#ThankYouUrbanDictionary

So we can infer from our definition of “throw shade” that it’s a synonym for talking trash.

Well it’s been the shot heard round the world today that the queen of hip hop, Nicki Minaj, has done just that to our new rapper from Australia: Iggy Azalea.

Last night on the BET Awards, Nicki accepted the award for Best Female Hip Hop Artist for the 5th year in a row!!!

In Nicki’s acceptance speech…she took a dig at Iggy Azalea:

#ThrowingShade

All Nicki said was that “if she ‘spit it’, she wrote it”. And for those who don’t know…”spit” is and old saying for rappers. Spit is basically the same as saying it with ferocity and passion.

Nicki did not call Iggy by name, but she tried to cover for herself by saying “No shade” over and over. I hate to tell you Nicki, but once the shade has left your lips…it’s shade no matter what you say from that point on! HAHA

Nicki is allegedly poking fun at Iggy Azalea because she doesn’t write all of the verses that she spits. I don’t know if that’s true, but Nicki would be a better judge  of that than me.

nicki_minaj_770

#SheKnowsHipHop

I’m sure Nicki has been feeling pressure ever since Iggy splashed on the scene with her debut album “The New Classic” that went all the way to #1!

iggy-azalea-unveils-full-tracklist-of-the-new-classic#TheNewClassic

I know everyone has heard Iggy’s song “Fancy” within the past month for sure!

#Fancy

I’m sure in my mind that Nicki Minaj and Iggy Azalea are not evenly matched. I love Iggy, don’t get me wrong, it’s just that Nicki Minaj has an empire!

Nicki is the first female rapper I know of to have her own clothing line, perfume line, and line of specialty Myx Moscato drinks!!!

screen-shot-2013-11-24-at-12-56-16-pmAnd apparently her Moscato is selling at an everyday low price! 😀

I think that Nicki shouldn’t feel threatened because Iggy has a long way to go and it’s going to be the same, difficult road for her as a female in Hip Hop.

Nicki started selling mixtapes out of the back of a minivan in New York so I’m not telling you at all that Iggy can’t take the throne from Miss Minaj.

My personal opinion is that Nicki hits harder in her raps, her drive as a business woman is extremely apparent, and she wakes up everyday ready to keep plugging along as the best female in hip hop.

I do love Iggy Azalea, but I don’t think even if she took Nicki’s place that it would be the same. Nicki’s voice is more appealing to me and Iggy’s is a little rough around the edges.

I’m glad that Nicki finally spoke out and Iggy is staying silent like a true champion!

iggy-azalea-2ne1-nicki-minaj-that-grape-juice

Leave a Reply

