Iggy Azalea & Ludacris bring hip hop to life!

Standard

Last night was crazy and I mean crazy because I went to a show at Vanderbilt University…

Screen Shot 2014-10-10 at 8.42.05 PM

…to see Ludacris and Iggy Azalea!

I remember a couple of months ago when I was scrolling through my Facebook newsfeed and I saw an advertisement that said Iggy Azalea Nashville, TN and at first I thought: “THAT CAN’T BE REAL!”

Much to my surprise, it was real! So I spent about 45 minutes on Ticketmaster trying to purchase a ticket! They were selling like hot cakes and it was stressful trying to even get my hands on one! After I scrambled and got a ticket, I was waiting for what seemed like forever until last night when it all went down!

Vanderbilt University is known to be a great school, but it’s also known to have a student body that likes to party! The “Commodore Quake” (as they call it) is put on by the students and therefore they get to pick who they want to perform! Well thank goodness they picked Iggy Azalea because she’s the hottest thing in music this year and my favorite artist of 2014!

fb_10479391_10203954785684279_4838787525339712585_o#CommodoreQuake

Back in the beginning they had selected new R&B star Tinashe to support the headliners Iggy Azalea & Ludacris, but due to rescheduling and none of the artists listed to be subject to appear if something comes up…they had to go with hip hop artist Jeremih. I wanted to see Tinashe, but I wasn’t that bummed out because I was going to see Iggy at the end of the day 😀

Screen Shot 2014-10-10 at 8.49.44 PMSubstitution: Tinashe out, Jeremih in

At 8:10 sharp, Jeremih and his crew came to the stage to hype up the crowd. They performed all of his hits including “Down On Me” and his latest hit: “Don’t Tell Em”. At one point he even led the crowd in “If you’re sexy and you know it, clap your hands!” and I laughed out loud! HAHAHAHA Jeremih left the stage after 25 minutes to prepare for Iggy!

Screen Shot 2014-10-10 at 8.52.12 PMHe wouldn’t stand still! HAHA

Right before 9 pm, Iggy Azalea came to the stage with her backup dancers/singers and the crowd went wild! She sang all of her hits including: “Black Widow”, “Change Your Life”, “Work” and of course “Fancy”! She also rapped her verses in Jennifer Lopez’ “Booty” remix, T.I.’s “No Mediocre”, and Ariana Grande’s “Problem” which had the whole crowd rapping along! 😀

DSC03009

To my surprise, she sang/rapped my favorite song on her debut album “The New Classic” that is about her ex-boyfriend and fellow hip hop artist ASAP Rocky! The song is called “Rolex” and I find it to be a genius idea and sentiment for a breakup song as Iggy pleads with him because she “needs payback for all the time lost”.

tumblr_inline_n309o86a0h1sasdd4“Rolexes don’t tick-tock…”

She also sang/rapped “Don’t Need Y’all” which is her message to friends that she had back before she hit it big in the music industry. I made sure to shout my favorite lyrics with her from that song which goes a little something like this: “And if you wasn’t here when I was down, then you won’t be here when I’m up!” She speaks so much about her road to success on “The New Classic” and I recommend everyone giving that album a good listen!

81nDZODvc1L._SL1400_#TheNewClassic

There was NO AIR CONDITIONING in the basketball gym so I’m pretty sure I lost at least 3 lbs in sweat during Iggy’s incredible hour long set! I even felt sweat dripping from my ankles into my shoes at one point!!! She made a comment about it when she turned to the crowd and said: “I want you guys do something for me. When you do this again maybe you can sign a petition to get A/C in this building!” She laughed and wasn’t a jerk about it. It was just funny and everyone was thinking it!

Screen Shot 2014-10-10 at 8.57.52 PM#NoAC

I totally lost track of time during that set and was rapping, singing, jumping, and dancing way too much to even take that many pictures HAHA But rest assured, I did get some good pics for yah! Iggy left the stage in a shower of glitter which made confetti seem boring and “SO 2013”! 😀

DSC03086#LetThereBeGlitter

At 10:33, Ludacris hit the stage with his hype man Lil’ Fate and the crowd went nuts! Over the course of his hour long set he went through all the hits including: “Money Maker”, his rap verse in Usher’s huge hit song “Yeah!”, his rap verse in DJ Khaled’s “All I Do Is Win”, “Roll Out”, “What’s Your Fantasy?”, “Act a Fool”, “Stand Up”, “How Low”, “My Chick Bad”, and “Number One Spot”.

DSC03106#SoManyHitSongs

Ludacris told the crowd that he got on a private jet from his stomping grounds of Atlanta, GA to be with us! I thought to myself: “Tough life.”

At one point he asked the audience, “Where are the freshmen? Where are the seniors?” and then I was reminded that I was at a college show!

Ludacris or who I refer to as “Luuuuuuuduhhhhh” is known to have a larger than life personality. I saw him on tour with the Black Eyed Peas back in February 2010 and he hasn’t missed a beat since then! He’s sharp, hard-hitting, and great at his rhymes! In the very beginning he was rapping so fast that my jaw dropped! He’s impressive and a guy who’s lovin’ life!

Screen Shot 2014-10-10 at 9.24.30 PM#HesLovinIt

Ludacris’ real name is Christopher Bridges and he asked the crowd if he had any “Fast & Furious” fans in the house which is cool because I always forget he’s an actor too! HAHA

ludacris-fast-and-furious-6Now you know who he plays in the movie!

And if you haven’t liked Luda’s Facebook page, shame on you! Go do it now!!! 😀 He posts the most hilarious photos/videos with the hashtag: #nowthatsludicrous

Like this one:

10347712_10152765437610513_8650826565595402208_nA texting cape for the barber shop/hair salon!

Altogether, the show was great and Iggy Azalea was a delight! If you love hip hop and you weren’t there last night at the 13th annual Commodore Quake, you really missed out! For me it was a dream come true to see Iggy and after listening to “The New Classic” about 100 times through…I deserved to see her! HAHA For real!

Check out my best photos from the show and comment or tweet @musicrowgirl with your thoughts about the Commodore Quake!

Thank you Vanderbilt for hiring a dream lineup for 2014! I don’t know how you can top that!

DSC03073 DSC03059 DSC03033DSC03088DSC03123 DSC03132 DSC03133

Leave a Reply

