Bush rocks out in Nashville!

Standard

I know it’s late, but lately I’ve been living on a rockstar’s schedule and last night…

DSC03787

…I got to see my favorite rock band: Bush

I’m always feeling like a lucky girl when I get to see one of my favorite bands, and last night was one heck of a rock show in Music City!

The concert was at a venue I really love!

Screen Shot 2014-12-07 at 12.29.19 AM

#WarMemorialAuditorium

The official title of the show might surprise you because it was: “102.9 The Buzz’s Swanky Sweater Christmas Jam”! HAHA Talk about a mouthful!!

swankyheader-e14132172046391#SwankySweaterChristmasJam

It was sponsored by Nashville’s own rock station 102.9 The Buzz and being that it’s so close to Christmas & the title of the show…I wore my very own ugly Christmas sweater! I find them to be swanky so I guess that fit the bill for last night’s holiday party 😀

The show started a little after 8 and began with rock singer:

Screen Shot 2014-12-07 at 12.45.31 AM

#MegMyers

She was a very passionate performer. The band was made up of a drummer, a cellist, and a guitarist which made for a great backdrop to anyone’s music! 🙂 She played a short set, but none the less it’s an honor to open for such a classic rock band as Bush!

Next was quite a treat as a new rock band or should I say rock duo hit the stage:

Screen Shot 2014-12-07 at 12.56.33 AM

#RoyalBlood

These guys were so good I’m thinking about reaching out to them to feature them as a Music Row Girl discover band! I kid you not! HAHA They were just ridiculously amazing! They’re a British rock band that was formed in Brighton last year! They played us almost all of their debut album and it was nothing short of phenomenal! The lead singer Mike Kerr plays the bass not the guitar which is quite stunning when you hear it live! It’s dark, gritty, and distorted…and I didn’t miss the fact that it wasn’t a guitar even once! Watch out for these guys! They’re going places!!!

Then the pièce de résistance…it was time for Bush to take the stage:

DSC03857

#Bush

It turned out to be an exhilarating performance that I want to say lasted about an hour & 15 minutes including the encore, but I was so excited that I wasn’t keeping good track of the time 😀

Bush is formed of 4 members of course: guitarist Chris Traynor, bassist Corey Britz, drummer Robin Goodridge, and lead singer/guitarist/the man every woman in the room wants: Gavin Rossdale! If I said it once, I’ll say it again…the dude is married to Gwen Stefani! That’s what I call a power couple! Enough said.

Bush came right out of the gate with “Everything Zen”, “Chemicals Between Us”, “Machinehead”, and “The Sound of Winter”. The crowd was loving it and I have to say that being front row is one of the best things ever!!!

They went on to sing some brand new songs from their latest album “Man on the Run” and to my surprise there was a really random cover song! Now granted, whenever I’ve seen Bush do a cover song it’s always “Come Together” by The Beatles, but last night it was “We Found Love” by Rihanna & #1 DJ in the world Calvin Harris!

Check out my video of “We Found Love” here:

I think it really worked for them but it was SO random! lol

Gavin Rossdale told the crowd that he loved being in Nashville as he called it “a center for music” and “world famous”. I’m a sucker for when artists and bands brag on Nashville and give it the credit that it deserves! That was a nice thing to hear Gavin say 🙂

They ended the night with an encore which included a picture perfect performance of “Glycerine” with just Gavin onstage! I’ve never seen it done that way before where the band didn’t join him in the end! It was so intimate and so Nashville! The final song was another favorite: “Comedown”.

Gavin gave a lot of fist pumps and waves to the crowd as he left and just as I had suspected, he walked out of the backstage door 20 minutes after he got off stage! He’s the quintessential rockstar in my eyes and he’s not about the distance between his fans! He has no assistant rushing people around and making their meet and greets shorter…it’s just Gavin and his bandmates with all the time in the world! I love how he isn’t unavailable to his fans and distant because that’s not how he rolls 😉

Gavin is never goofy in photos, but for some reason in this one he was:

DSC04184

This should be my blog’s Christmas card photo!

He signed my ticket stub and while he was signing I told him: “You’re my favorite rockstar. You’re one of my favorite people in the world…and I love you soooo much!” He said, “Awwww! What’s your name?” and he went ahead and added Stella to the ticket 🙂

I got to meet the drummer Robin Goodridge for the first time which was very cool! He was so down to earth and a very funny guy! He’s actually the only other original member of Bush besides Gavin!!!

The show was absolutely wonderful and I loved rocking out for a change! Thank you 102.9 The Buzz for putting together one heck of a show and I can’t wait to see Bush again soon!

Thanks for check out my review of the show! Please leave a comment or tweet @musicrowgirl with your thoughts! And check out my best photos of Bush before you leave 🙂

Thank you Gavin & the boys for coming to see me for Christmas!

DSC03827DSC03782DSC03870DSC03789 DSC03794DSC03976DSC04115

Leave a Reply

