T-Pain is done making hit songs!

Standard

It always interests me when artists/bands take all new directions in music…

1602459-t-pain-617x409

…and everyone’s favorite auto-tune master T-Pain is doing just that!

I remember way back in the day, it was 2007 to be exact, I heard this song “Buy U a Drank (Shawty Snappin’)” and I thought “Who is that guy and why does his voice sound so weird?”

It was T-Pain! A brand new rapper on the scene whose voice sounded pretty funny because he openly uses auto-tune on his vocals! Auto-tune is a fancy word for pitch correction and I’ve broken it down on my blog before which you can see here:

>>> musicrowgirl.com/what-is-auto-tune <<<

T-Pain has done so much in the past 7 years in the spotlight of hip hop music! Most people remember T-Pain for singing the hook of Flo Rida’s famous song “Low”. You know… “Shawty got them Apple Bottom jeans, JEANS, boots with the fur, WITH THE FUR.” Now you’ve got it stuck in your head!

Shawty got low, low, low, low, low, low, low, low…

#Low

He’s had tons of hit songs in his career, but he’s ready to move on and make music that isn’t for radio! I’m not saying he’s giving auto-tune up because that would just be crazy, but what I am saying is that he’s not worried about his songs making it to radio anymore!

T-Pain told Larry King in a recent interview: “Musically, I stopped trying to make hits. I’m done with trying to make hits and trying to please everybody, except for myself.”

When you thought Larry couldn’t get any cooler…

Hip-Hop-Instagram-T-Pain-on-larry-King

…he just did!

T-Pain is busy working on his brand new album “Stoicville” and as he told his buddy Larry that the album is “more truthful” to him.

T gushed to his buddy Lair when he told him: “I’ve never been this happy in the music industry in my life.”

You’ve got to hand it to him! It takes a lot of guts to change your sound because you never know it the fans will follow you or not! T-Pain has wonderful fans like yours truly so I’m sure we can follow him to music that isn’t for the club 🙂

As long as some auto-tune stays I’ll be happy because he has truly mastered it like an art form! And if anyone wants to get me his auto-tune microphone for Christmas:

iamtpainmic

I’ll love you forever!!!

Congrats T-Pain on finding your sound & I can’t wait to hear Stoicville!

1409088121-t-pain-600

Leave a Reply

