Discover: Mark Ronson

Standard

Some weeks I’m perplexed about who to write about, but I felt like I had to mention…

MarkRonsonTOX171011

…who Mark Ronson is!

Mark is on my radar lately ever since his song “Uptown Funk” featuring Bruno Mars has become the #1 song on iTunes…which it is #1 right now!

I’ve known of Mark, but I never knew that he released music under his own name. I knew him as a producer who worked closely with the late, great Amy Winehouse!

Mark produced “Rehab”, “You Know I’m No Good”, “Back to Black”, “Love Is A Losing Game”, “Wake Up Alone”, and “He Can Only Hold Her” for Amy’s award-winning album “Back to Black”.

mark-ronson-amyHe was praised for his work with Amy!

The 39 year old superstar producer hails from London, England and apparently has a good career as a solo artist of which I wasn’t aware. He’s released quite a few albums over the years starting in 2003 and his last solo album was in 2010:

Screen Shot 2014-12-21 at 10.38.53 PM

I can’t believe I didn’t know he had solo music! Ugh! I’ll be busy listening now!

So it’s been a good 4 years since Mark’s last solo album, but rest assured, with the “Uptown Funk” being the #1 song on iTunes now…he’s resurfacing and releasing a brand new album in 2015! “Uptown Special” will be released on January 15th!

RONSON UPTOWN FUNK FINAL COVER ART#UptownSpecial

I’m thinking that Mark must be happy as can be to have a #1 on the charts and I must defend myself for not knowing much of him and his solo career because I’m in the US and not much UK music is marketed to me…although I do love UK music 🙂

Take a listen to the #1 song in the country, “Uptown Funk” here:

#UptownFunk

You know what’s really cool about Mark is that he’s a behind the scenes guy in music too! He’s had his hand in many songs you and I have heard such as Bruno Mars’ “Locked Out Of Heaven”, Christina Aguilera’s “Hurt”, and Adele’s “Cold Shoulder” to name a few!

He released a TED Talk in May as well which I can’t wait to hear! For those of you who have never watched any TED Talks…I highly recommend that you do!!!

Check out Mark’s talk about “How sampling transformed music”:

#TEDTalks

I’m really looking forward to hearing Mark’s music and to listening to his Ted Talk! It’s a busy holiday season for us all, but I’m always interested in new music 😀

Congratulations Mark on “Uptown Funk” and I’m excited for what’s next for you!

41_MarkRonson_otherimages1

2 thoughts on “Discover: Mark Ronson

Leave a Reply

