Joni Mitchell hospitalized with rare disease!

Standard

You guys know that I’m a huge fan of amazing songwriters and unfortunately…

Joni-Mitchell5

…one of the greatest of all, Joni Mitchell, has been hospitalized!

Joni fainted on Tuesday and is still in a hospitalized in Los Angeles at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. A 911 call was made when she fainted and now the songwriting superstar is undergoing tests to determine the cause.

Her spokesperson said that she is “doing fine” and there are also several reports saying the the 71 year old Miss Mitchell is in good spirits!

jonimitchell071212wSounds like she’s back to her old self again!

Joni has been a long-time sufferer of a rare condition known as Morgellons disease. It has caused her to nearly throw in the towel and call it quits on her music career 😦

She discussed Morgellons in a 2010 interview with the LA Times like this: “Fibers in a variety of colors protrude out of my skin like mushrooms after a rainstorm: they cannot be forensically identified as animal, vegetable or mineral.”

I can’t even imagine how painful and peculiar that disease would be to experience!! And the fact that is isn’t well known about is hard to believe! I’ve heard that she has succumbed to working with a doctor who is way outside the box!

In her most recent memoir, 2014’s “In Her Own Words”, Joni said: “I couldn’t wear clothing. I couldn’t leave my house for several years. Sometimes it got so I’d have to crawl across the floor. My legs would cramp up, just like a polio spasm. It hit all of the places where I had polio.”

What a horrible way to live! 😦

Symptoms of Morgellons include: crawling sensations, extreme itching, and general fatigue/mental fog.

It would be difficult for me to tell you the amount of times I’ve heard people in Nashville mention Joni Mitchell’s “Blue” as their most influential album as a fellow singer-songwriter! I’ve even heard John Oates of Hall & Oates say that “Blue” was his favorite!

This is not a UCO photo.And you know John knows his fair share of songwriters!

All I know is the favorite thing I heard from Joni recently is that she said publicly that she hadn’t ever heard Taylor Swift’s music before LOL I just think that’s kind of hilarious and cute…kind of like Joni “throwing some shade” 😀

I wish Joni the absolute best in her recovery and I certainly hope that her medical attention gets to the root of the disease to offer her some major relief!

Get well soon Joni! We’re all pulling for you!!!

joni-624-1371481260

Leave a Reply

