Radio consultant causes a stir on Music Row!

Standard

I decided that it wouldn’t be proper if Music Row Girl didn’t say anything…

…about the radio consultant’s comments this week!

So there was a very, very blatant shot taken at women in country music this week and I have to tell you what was said and what I think about it.

Keith Hill, a radio consultant, said the following in an interview with Country Aircheck: “If you want to make ratings in country radio, take females out. The reason is mainstream country radio generates more quarter hours from female listeners at the rate of 70 to 75 percent, and women like male artists.”

Oh, and that’s only the beginning! He continues…

“The expectation is we’re principally a male format with a smaller female component. I’ve got about 40 music databases in front of me, and the percentage of females in the one with the most is 19 percent. Trust me, I play great female records, and we’ve got some right now; they’re just not the lettuce in our salad. The lettuce is Luke Bryan and Blake Shelton, Keith Urban and artists like that. The tomatoes of our salad are the females.”

KeithHill#KeithHill

Hurtful? I would say: YES! I think it was a bold thing of him to say, but the way he went about it was senseless. If you’re going to say that men provide for the majority of listening activity on country radio, I wouldn’t take a shot at the women in country at the same time.

Keith also thinks that two songs by females shouldn’t be played consecutively on country radio, by the way!

Numbers are numbers and data is data, but why cut out females on country radio? I feel like that would offend more people than it would please! Without a doubt!!!

The noise on Music Row has of course been a rebuttal from both people in the radio industry and females in country music!

A fellow radio consultant, Jaye Albright said on Facebook, “He is simply wrong. You could make a case that males sometimes don’t relate to specific songs put out by women and that does cause more releases by men to do better on average what the typical female hit does but I have never seen any evidence that women do not like songs by females!”

jayelabrightmain2010t#JayeAlbright

I really like Jaye’s perspective and quite honestly, I’ve been thinking the same thing! Who’s to say that women don’t like music from country divas?!

The senior vice president of CMT, Leslie Fram said: “I can tell you that working and programming radio for over 20 years, this is simply not true. Top 40 is primarily a female format and the majority of artists on their chart are women. This posting is taking us 20 steps backwards. It’s an insult to every female artist in the format.”

Leslie-Fram-ramed#LeslieFram

I like Leslie’s perspective because her data is absolutely accurate since she has seen the radio industry (unbiased) for over 20 years!

Country diva, Jennifer Nettles took to Twitter with:

Screen Shot 2015-05-31 at 7.33.13 PM

That hashtag is hilarious!

A seasoned veteran of country music, Martina McBride said: “I was taken aback by the comments in the article. I felt them to be sexist and condescending toward female artists. But putting all that aside, the response from my followers on Facebook and Twitter has been overwhelmingly full of comments that disagree wholeheartedly with what was said in the article and how they, as the core audience, feel misrepresented.”

I love how kind she was about it! Thanks Martina!

I think the ladies have it! Keith was out of line and it was really inappropriate of him to say those things. Women in country music are lettuce too 😉

Congrats ladies for sticking up for what’s right! I love yah!

Leave a Reply

